[TGIF] The marvellous return to the year

Fresh tracks from up-and-coming artists. It's TGIF!

Artwork from Dirty Nice's latest single "SHARK!"
Welcome to "Thank God It's Friday" where we dive into the latest musical releases that have been setting our "earing pupils" on fire. As we bid farewell to another exciting week, we can't help but celebrate the incredible tracks that have graced our ears in recent weeks. From infectious pop hits to electronic and rock-ish stirring records, this post is dedicated to showcasing the best of the best. Get ready to discover your new favourite songs and let the music take you on a captivating ride. It's time to turn up the volume and embrace the magic of these incredible releases. Let the music speak, and let the weekend begin in style.

Dirty Nice – SHARK!

Off-beat, quirky, and bursting with unparalleled creativity, Dirty Nice (also featured here), the indie/alternative duo, brings forth their next musical marvel, “Surrenderland“, set to release on November 3rd through Chiverin. The duo, composed of Charlie Pelling, a sought-after composer in the UK’s comedy scene, and Lisbon’s Mark Thompson, have already tantalized listeners with the energetic single “SHARK!“, unveiled alongside the album announcement on September 6th. Dirty Nice‘s signature style, straddling personal stories and surreal cartoonish vibes, shines through in their latest creations. As they describe it, “Surrenderland” transcends being just an album title—it’s a philosophy, a mindset. It embodies embracing instincts, celebrating authenticity, and relishing the blend of music and cartoon visuals. This single is not only a musical treat but also an ode to the adventures of their youth, symbolizing the embracing of one’s past and authentic self. As they journey deeper into the enigmatic realm of Surrenderland, Dirty Nice promises an auditory and visual experience unlike any other, rooted in the same brilliance that earned their debut album “Lobster” widespread acclaim in 2021.

Grimson – Fault Lines

Introducing “Fault Lines” the lead track from the debut album “Climbing Up The Chimney” by the talented Swedish/American songwriter and animator, a New York City native now based in Berlin. At 26 years old, this dynamic artist skillfully intertwines animated narratives with his music, creating a distinctive audio-visual experience under the project name, Grimson. Though the track starts with a gentle allure, listeners are in for a treat as it crescendos to a captivating drop just a minute in. As an independent artist, he currently boasts 16k monthly listeners and is avidly broadening his reach, not only through his unique animation skills, which have been previously showcased in a music video for Weyes Blood. Dive into the world of Grimson (also previously featured here) and let the musical journey unfold!

Lily Buns – Grow Alone

Grow Alone” is the latest by Lily Buns and a profound exploration of the emotions and experiences tied to significant life transitions. The track was conceived during a deeply personal moment, as the artist packed their belongings, preparing for a monumental move, accompanied only by their loyal dog. The song beautifully encapsulates the myriad of feelings — from the exhilaration and unease to the raw pain and captivating allure — that accompany such a bold step as relocating across the nation solo. The momentum behind “Grow Alone” is undeniable; it has already captivated 15,000 listeners on TikTok. Fans can eagerly anticipate an engaging 4-week social media campaign and exclusive post-release merchandise. Dive into this musical journey and resonate with the universal theme of embracing change. And it was released only about a week ago.

Long Distances – Delicate Surrender

Delicate Surrender” is the latest mesmerizing single from the indie rock trio, Long Distances. Drawing its deep roots from the iconic sounds of new wave, goth, and post-punk, this track beckons listeners with its infectious bass lines and compelling backbeat. Paired with irresistible guitar motifs and lush synths, its introspective vocals offer a contemplative exploration of the ever-present dance of change, relationships, and the constant interplay of life’s highs and lows. Born amidst the backdrop of a world in flux, Long Distances, composed of Aarifah Rebello, Apurv Agrawal, and Zubin Pastakia, masterfully weaves the threads of contemporary anxieties and timeless emotions. Prepare to dance and dwell deep as you await the EP “How the Mighty Will Fall” where this single stands as a testament to the band’s ability to capture the essence of love, loss, and our collective yearning for liberation, all set to the cadence of classic post-punk and dream-pop melodies.

NEWT – Hidden Potential

NEWT represents the fresh musical endeavor of Bob Hoving, a writer, singer, and multi-instrumentalist whose eclectic style blends energetic beats influenced by indie, hip-hop, grime, punk, and experimental pop. NEWT‘s songs offer a glimpse into self-discovery and insights from his unique perspective. Originally a jazz guitarist immersed in Amsterdam’s diverse music scene, Bob’s artistic evolution led him to a more personal sound, marked by raw intensity and a wide array of musical influences. He handles much of the recording and production himself, resulting in a distinct and compelling sonic experience. Performing with a dynamic 5-piece band live, NEWT creates an infectious new sound. His fiery tracks, tinged with elements of alternative, hip-hop, indie, and grunge, intermingle with introspective tunes exploring themes of ego, desire, love, and resentment.
Hidden Potential” is the second single from his upcoming debut EP set to release on October 6th, while NEWT has also secured a spot in the Popronde lineup, embarking on a tour across the Netherlands this autumn, following previous performances at renowned venues like Paradiso and Melkweg.

Pretty Moi – Sunset Daze

Hailing from the vibrant music scene of Melbourne, Australia, the six-member indie-rock sensation Pretty Moi has just unveiled their latest track, “Sunset Daze”. With roots that trace back to Brisbane where founding members Ruben Vasconez and Riley Fletcher first struck a chord, the band is renowned for fusing eclectic styles – from the ethereal tones of 60’s psychedelic rock and the timeless resonance of classic soul to global musical flavours. Their new release, “Sunset Daze“, is a testament to this artistry. This lo-fi rock marvel grips listeners instantly, building on impeccable guitar riffs that intensify as the track progresses. The vocal prowess on display channels the raw emotion of Alabama Shakes, yet adds a distinct alt-rock flavor, while retaining a soulful essence. The track’s compelling crescendo ensures it’s a journey listeners will want to embark on time and again.

The Moss – The Place That Makes Me Happy

Emerging with a new tune that promises to elevate their already vibrant musical journey, THE MOSS unveils their latest single “The Place That Makes Me Happy“, succeeding their acclaimed hit, “Insomnia“. With roots tracing back to the sandy shores of Oahu in 2015, THE MOSS beautifully amalgamates diverse genres from alternative rock to reggae influences. Born from the playful melodies of teenage friends Tyke James and Addison Sharp serenading local taco truck patrons, the band’s sound is an authentic reflection of island joy blended with the profound musings characteristic of renowned indie bands like Pinegrove and Cage the Elephant. The group has since expanded, introducing Willie Fowler’s drum beats and Brierton Sharp’s bass rhythms, transitioning from Hawaiian beaches to the vast expanse of the Great Salt Lake. Their new single, undeniably, is set to be another testament to this bond in the way it mixes happy moods with a distinctive indie rock feel that just feels good all the way.